Register / Log in

Server Costs Oct

Ends in 8 days 0%
It is currently Sat Oct 23, 2021 6:21 pm

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Repeat Queue
PostPosted: Tue Aug 05, 2008 6:05 pm 

Joined: Fri Sep 21, 2007 10:32 am
Posts: 47
Faction: Flight School
Offline
So, let's say there's a nice stable, cyclic trade route that you've got set up. You know exactly what you want to do: just keep trading fish to Echo and steel to Leng, or whatever, and just go back and forth. You've set up a few legs of flight, but your finger's getting tired, or you've got a cruddy mouse or something. It'd be nice if you could just push a button that says "Repeat queue" and it would fill out your entire queue with a repeated cycle once you've set it up.

Here's how I'm envisioning it:

I'm at Echo, and I've got a crate full of steel. I plot a flight to Leng, drop off steel, pick up fish. I plot a flight to Echo, drop off fish, pick up steel. I press "repeat queue" and now I've got 14 trips planned.

EDIT: W00t, 7777th post in S&C!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 4:30 am 

Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 6:39 am
Posts: 174
Location: Taking the plane down to the sea to do some fishing
Faction: Flight School
Offline
I'd like that, but what I think would happen is that you would bring up a box with little slots in it, and you would drag-and-drop components into the slots.

Like:

[Fly to] [Echo]
[Sell] [a full hold of] [ore]
[Buy] [a full hold of] [fish]
[Fly to] [Leng]
[Sell] [a full hold of] [fish]
[Buy] [a full hold of] [ore]

{Repeat}

Something like that.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 7:38 am 

Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2008 5:09 pm
Posts: 9
Location: Up in the wild blue yonder
Faction: Azure League

Offline
I think this is really impractical to implement codewise. And it reminds me of one of those programs that allow you to program in a programing language by using blocks representing commands.

I would attempt to write out the Echo to Leng queue in Java but it would take too long to initialize all the object classes (skyland, trade good, plane, skyrate) and methods (fly, sell, buy, service). And that is without including combat. I would basically rewrite the game in Java sans factions and missions.

My suggestion: macros


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Aug 06, 2008 6:51 pm 

Joined: Mon May 26, 2008 3:17 am
Posts: 93
Faction: Flight School
Offline
this would be cool. Also in conjunction with cancel queue button:
http://skyrates.net/forum/viewtopic.php?t=4487


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 08, 2008 12:18 am 

Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2008 9:08 pm
Posts: 2
Faction: Flight School
Offline
Quote:
I'd like that, but what I think would happen is that you would bring up a box with little slots in it, and you would drag-and-drop components into the slots.


I dunno about that one... I agree with Ilya's suggestion more. A simple "repeat" button would be a lot easier to use.
Besides, the "repeat" button can just make use of the same whatever interfaces that the queue already uses.


I think there should be additional restrictions to have this make more sense though:

This button would be enabled when the current end of the queue is at a location present earlier in the queue.

If a "sell, buy, fly" is queued, and repeat is pressed, but the "fly" does not fit in the queue, the last action should be "sell", because the "buy" is usually associated with the following "fly".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Sep 13, 2008 7:31 pm 
Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:29 am
Posts: 2232
Location: the steel city
Offline
I've been thinking about this, and I think it's possible. The naive version of the algorithm is:

1. store where you are now, what goods are in your hold, etc.
2. work backwards in the queue, looking for the first situation which is identical to the current one
3. repeat everything that happened since that point, until out of queue legs.

now, this would have the additional complexity from the player's perspective that you'd have to be careful about what transaction was at the end of the queue when you hit "find cycle" or whatever. to eliminate the need to be so careful, we could consider working backwards through the steps you've got on the current skyland, repeating steps 1-3 on it all.

this doesn't sound trivial, but neither does it sound crushingly difficult either. i wonder why we haven't done it.

-PL-


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 14, 2008 7:10 am 
Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:05 am
Posts: 3662
Location: Skybrary Archives
Offline
phil wrote:
i wonder why we haven't done it.
"We've got bigger fish to fry."


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Sep 28, 2008 3:09 pm 
Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:29 am
Posts: 2232
Location: the steel city
Offline
Sorry it took me so long to think of anything decent Ilya, but I've finally attached your one-of-a-kind upgrade. Enjoy!

-PL-


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group