Register / Log in

Server Costs Oct

Ends in 13 days 0%
It is currently Tue Oct 19, 2021 7:40 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Why is this game so hard on CPUs?
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:13 pm 

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:43 am
Posts: 87
Location: The Room of the Wolfmother Wallpaper
Faction: Flight School
Offline
I have an AMD 3ghz dual core processor and 4gb of RAM. Now that it is summer, my comp usually idles somewhere b/w 35-36°C. When I have my browser on the "FLY!" tab of Skyrates, it shoots up to 44-45°C..!! No other app or game that I have taxes my CPU like that (I even run two instances of SecondLife simultaneously on occasion and my CPU doesn't get above 42°C)

Any explanations..?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Why is this game so hard on CPUs?
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:34 pm 
Senator

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 8:11 am
Posts: 999
Faction: Crimson Armada

Offline
WhipSmart wrote:
I have an AMD 3ghz dual core processor and 4gb of RAM. Now that it is summer, my comp usually idles somewhere b/w 35-36°C. When I have my browser on the "FLY!" tab of Skyrates, it shoots up to 44-45°C..!! No other app or game that I have taxes my CPU like that (I even run two instances of SecondLife simultaneously on occasion and my CPU doesn't get above 42°C)

Any explanations..?


My guess is that it's because Flash is Evil. It was born from a programming languange and Satan.


Thorne


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun May 27, 2007 10:48 pm 

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 7:55 pm
Posts: 123
Location: Et in Arcadia ego
Faction: Flight School
Offline
I've not been watching my CPU closely, but I've been meaning to mention that clicking the Missions button always causes a particularly notable hang for me... sure, the game as a whole makes my fans spin up, but for whatever reason, Missions pegs it. There, that's all.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 4:24 am 

Joined: Thu Jan 11, 2007 4:14 pm
Posts: 783
Location: Far away or close by. Depends, huh?
Faction: Flight School
Offline
I'm running pretty much the same setup as you, Whip, but I'm not getting any residual heating, period. In fact, my fans always stay silent except for when I'm playing Counter-Strike or something. Maybe it's just the amount of time you're staying on in one sitting? Maybe the fans need a good shot of canned air? That always seems to help my PC when it runs a bit too hot.

_________________
"Men willingly believe what they want." ~ Gaius Julius Caesar
"You can get more with a kind word and a gun than you can with just a kind word." ~ Al Capone


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 4:32 am 

Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2006 10:43 am
Posts: 87
Location: The Room of the Wolfmother Wallpaper
Faction: Flight School
Offline
well, it's not the amount of time b/c I spend as little time as possible on that tab for this very reason. It's also why I don't chat as much as I'd like.

As far as cleaning, I'm meticulous when it comes to this machine 'cause I built her myself.

Plus it 'only' runs hot (and not even that hot - 45° is nowhere near the threshold for this chip) when I'm on this tab. SL, Civ IV, even a good ol' fashioned stress test doesn't tax it like Skyrates does. It's just really odd.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 6:27 am 

Joined: Fri Dec 15, 2006 11:53 pm
Posts: 2041
Location: Near a beach
Faction: Flight School
Offline
Perhaps its time to try the mineral oil submersion mod?

I don't check the temps I get but I do know that Flash eventually bogs down both my Macs and my PC. I refresh it or reboot my browser and that speeds things back up again.

I think I remember something about chat causing some slowdowns but am not positive.

_________________
Colonel Fenriq
Senator, ex-Crimson Empire Praetorian, Governator, Quixotian.
Image
See this? This is my BOOMSTICK!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 8:07 am 
Skeptical Philosopher

Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 7:14 pm
Posts: 208
Faction: Flight School
Offline
Flash can be taxing but Skyrates doesn't tax my computer more then any other flash app, about 12% on Core 1.

Running Core 2 Duo E6300 at Stock


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon May 28, 2007 12:02 pm 
Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:05 am
Posts: 3662
Location: Skybrary Archives
Offline
I've seen similar stuff.
Don't know if it's Skyrates specifically, or just Flash in general, but my processor seems to crank up the usage when I'm on Skyrates.
Makes things downright jumpy/choppy on my older desktop.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 7:59 am 

Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 9:12 am
Posts: 1
Faction: Flight School
Offline
The game causes my laptop fan to turn on after a little bit.
My computer seems fine though...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 11:05 am 
cr4ptastic navigator

Joined: Sat Jan 13, 2007 10:28 am
Posts: 18
Faction: Flight School
Offline
I just noticed that when I use one of the lab computers (dells w. onboard video) that the fan cranks up whenever I'm in combat.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2007 11:13 am 
Developer

Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2006 7:05 am
Posts: 3662
Location: Skybrary Archives
Offline
Hmmm.
I'm also on a Dell.
What model?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group